Member Log-In | Staff Directory | Events | Join The Chamber | Search Our Members

CORTEZ NAMED LEGISGATOR OF THE YEAR at 17th Annual LegisGator Luncheon

Published Friday, August 19, 2022

Louisiana Senate President Page Cortez was awarded this year’s LegisGator of the Year for his outstanding work in the Louisiana House and Senate over the years.  

From the Presentation of his Award: “This year’s LegisGator of the Year cut his teeth as a Freshman member of the House of Representatives who was appointed to the powerful House Appropriations committee.  It was here where he quickly learned about the state budget and the appropriations process, often carrying the state constitution in his back pocket for reference in his legislative debates.   

After one term in the House, he moved over to the Senate serving on key committees including Commerce and Retirement. During his 2nd Senate term, he was appointed as Chairman of the Senate Transportation committee.  It was here where he gained an appreciation for transportation funding and Louisiana's dire need for improvement. In his third and final term in the Senate, he ascended to the most powerful position in the Senate working across the aisle to gain the loyalty and respect of his fellow Senators.  He has led the Senate through redistricting, the pandemic, and investing the state’s federal relief funds. Under his leadership, Louisiana is making unprecedented investment in higher education and infrastructure which will pay dividends for years to come.” 

Nearly nine hundred Chamber SWLA members, colleagues, elected officials and visitors were in attendance to the state legislators honored for their commitment to the Chamber’s pro-business legislative agenda during the 2022 Legislative Session. 

“The purpose of our LegisGator Luncheon is to thank the members of the state legislature and our congressional delegation for supporting the pro-business agenda of the Chamber Southwest Louisiana and our allies. We appreciate their willingness to serve,” said George Swift, President/CEO of the Chamber SWLA. 

Louisiana Governor John Bel Edwards, Lt. Governor Billy Nunngesser, Louisiana House Speaker Clay Schexnayder, and Cortez gave remarks at the event which also included Federal level updates from Senator Bill Cassidy, MD, Senator John Kennedy, Congressman Clay Higgins, and Congressman Garret Graves.  

Other major award winners:

Rising Star Award: Representative Richard Nelson 

Special Achievement Award: Representative Jason Hughes for support of early childhood literacy

Special Achievement Award: Representative Larry Bagley for funding economic development efforts across the state

Special Achievement Award: Representative Bodi White & Senator Zee Zeringue for their work with our State budget, making investments in key areas such as higher education, healthcare, and infrastructure.  

Governmental Affairs Award: Senator Mark Abraham for his tireless work advocating for a new Calcasieu River Bridge  

Chamber SWLA Chair’s Award: Senator Rick Ward for championing infrastructure funding  

 Winners of the Business Champion Awards this year: 

Representative Tony Bacala, District 59

Representative Beau Beaullieu, District 48

Representative Stuart J. Bishop, District 43

Representative Ryan Bourriaque, District 47

Representative Marcus Bryant, District 96

Representative Rhonda Butler, District 38

Representative Dewith Carrier, District 32

Representative Wilford Carter, District 34

Representative Mary DuBuisson, District 90

Representative Michael Echols, District 14

Representative Rick Edmonds, District 66

Representative Les Farnum, District 33

Representative Barbara Freiberg, District 70

Representative Brett Geymann, District 35

Representative Johnathan Goudeau, District 31

Representative Mike Huval, District 46

Representative John Illg, District 78

Representative Patrick Jefferson, District 11

Representative Michael Johnson, District 27

Representative Edmond Jordan, District 29

Representative Rodney Lyons, District 87

Representative Tanner Magee, District 53

Representative Jack McFarland, District 13

Representative Scott McKnight, District 68

Representative Blake Miguez, District 49

Representative Gregory A. Miller, District 56

Representative Buddy Mincey, District 71

Representative Charles Owen, District 30

Representative Robert Owen, District 76

Representative Vincent J. Pierre, District 44

Representative Neil Riser, District 20

Representative Troy Romero, District 37

Representative Clay Schexnayder, District 81

Representative Alan Seabaugh, District 5

Representative Vincent St. Blanc, District 50

Representative Phillip Tarver, District 36

Representative Christopher Turner, District 12

Representative Bill Wheat, District 73

Representative Matthew Willard, District 97

Senator Gerald Boudreaux, District 24

Senator Stewart Cathey Jr., District 33

Senator Michael Fesi, District 20

Senator Barry Milligan, District 38

Senator Beth Mizell, District 12

Senator Gary Smith, District 19

Senator Jeremy Stine, District 27

Senator Glen Womack, District 32


This year’s event was sponsored by Title Sponsor L'Auberge Casino Resort, Presenting Sponsor CITGO , and Diamond Sponsor Sasol. 

Golden Gator Sponsors were Advantous Consulting, Cameron LNG, Cheniere Energy, CHRISTUS Ochsner Health Southwest Louisiana, Energy Transfer, Hunt, Guillot & Associates, First Horizon Bank, Indorama, Mallett Buildings, Optimum, Phillips 66, Port of Lake Charles, Sempra Infrastructure, Stream Wetland Services, Tellurian / Driftwood LNG, Westlake Corporation and The Picard Group. 

Bayou Backers were Adams & Reese; Acadian Ambulance; Bruno & Tervalon CPAs and Business Advisors; Chennault International Airport; Coushatta Casino Resort; CSRS; Entergy; First Federal Bank; JDBank; Lake Charles Coca Cola; Lake Charles Memorial Health System; Lake Charles Pilots; Lake Charles Regional Airport; Lotte Chemicals; Rail Logix; Roebuck Staffing; Ryan; Stine; Stockwell Sievert Law Firm; and West Calcasieu Cameron Hospital.

Contact Information

Back to top